Exhibition Design Museum Gent

26 May 15

KATRA TRAVELS TO BELGIUM

On the occasion of the exhibition « Synthetic by nature » at Design Museum in Gent (Belgium), the studio of designers from Nantes KATRA has exported his eponym chair, who answers at an interrogation about materials through an ecological problem. 
Indeed, conscientious as well on local manufacturing and quality of materials, the studio seeks strength and lightness in the creation of its objects. So, for this second version of the minimalist chair Katra, is flax that has been advocated, not urtica to the first version.

And flax, such as hemp, was widely acclaimed at this Belgian exhibition which was held from April 3 to 26 in Gent, since it was put forward the composite materials which have the characteristic of being "new", natural, renewable, and future. Indeed, like glass and carbon fiber, the use of plant materials allows, with ease of manufacture, to obtain lightness and strength, but by developing sustainable ecological promise, always linking art and science.

Expo Design Museum Gent

26 Mai 15

KATRA VOYAGE EN BELGIQUE

A l'occasion de l'exposition « Synthetic by nature » au Design Museum de Gent (Belgique), le studio de designers nantais KATRA a pu exporter sa chaise éponyme, qui répond à une interrogation sur les matériaux à travers une problématique écologique.
En effet, consciencieux aussi bien sur la fabrication locale que la qualité des matériaux, le studio cherche la résistance et la légèreté dans la création de ses objets. Ainsi, pour cette seconde version de la chaise minimaliste Katra, c'est du lin qui a été préconisé, et non de l'ortie pour la première version.

Et le lin, comme le chanvre, fut largement plébiscité lors de cette exposition belge qui s'est tenue du 3 au 26 avril à Gent, puisqu'il s'agissait de mettre en avant les matériaux composites qui ont la particularité d'être « nouveaux », naturels, renouvelables, et d'avenir. En effet, à l'instar du verre et de la fibre de carbon, l'utilisation de matières végétales permet, avec une facilité de fabrication, d'obtenir légèreté et résistance, mais en développant une promesse écologique durable, en liant toujours art et science.